What a horrible morning!!

I started my day like I normally would.. Made Angel breakfast, got his
coffee ready for work, let the chicks out into the yard, etc.  I
was sitting and talking with Anna when Danny (my dog) came up the
stairs, barking.. So I find myself on my deck and notice the cat looks
freaked and my hens are going nuts!  Then I see it.. A big yellow
dog, with one of my Buff Orpingtons in its mouth!!

I started yelling at him to put the chicken down.. He dropped her and
looked right at me.. then started chasing more of them.. I yelled for
Angel at this point.  

Angel came out with my swifter and finally chased him out of our yard..
I should mention at this point.. Danny was of absolutely no help
whatsoever.. He just followed the yellow dog around the yard sniffing
its butt.. ugh

I couldn’t find the buff anywhere.. I seriously thought she was dead..
There were feathers everywhere.. I finally found her hiding behind the
garage.. all tail feathers gone.  She wouldn’t let me anywhere
near her.. So I rounded the others up into the pen with offerings of
oats.. She was the last to come out and she was very skittish.  

We got them all locked up and I barricaded the fence by putting things
against it.  An animal can get in by crawling under so I was not
about to take chances!

Angel found out how the dog came in.. he jumped the fence in the far
corner of our yard.. Not good at all.. Different things keep going
through my head.. what if Anna was out there playing, what if Angel was
not home..   What if….  

I went outside and took a few pics while Anna was sleeping(was afraid
that dog might come back and didn’t want her in the way).  I then
put my gloves on and sprayed some Blue Kote on the poor Hen.  She
didn’t fight me til I sprayed her.. but something had to be done. 
She is bleeding up her back where all the feather were pulled out and
her rear looks nasty.. I then held her and petted her for a bit til she
calmed down.  Blue Kote stains big time.. so now I look like I
have a bad tattoo on my arm.. ugh. 

Now she is out in the pen area now.. walking around slowly.. I hope she
is going to be ok.. There are golden feathers covering my yard.. my
poor girl.

