Ok.. one of the blogs I read.. (now I can’t remember the name.. not good) was asking about homeschoolers and Halloween..

Here is what I think
(please remember.. this is my opinion.. not meant to judge or criticize anyone else..)

We celebrated Halloween as a child.. As long as I could remember.. I
was a witch every year.. Except one year.. I was a spanish princess.. I
felt so pretty that year.. and even won a contest.. (It was a Tee Shirt
with Charlie’s Angels on the front).  I never really cared for
Halloween though.. it always gave me the creeps.. I hated seeing bare
trees and being out in the dark.. I have a very over active
imagination..

After I found Jesus at the age of 15.. Halloween changed for me.. We
kinda stopped going out at that point.. (well, I was also a bit old to
do that.. or felt it) but I didn’t want to be like the people who
slammed the doors in our faces when I was a child.. (don’t think that
showed Christ’s Love).. So I took my babysitting money and would buy
Jesus loves me pencils, erasers, etc.. a cute halloween tract with
jokes and riddles, and a candy bar and put them in sandwich bags and
give them out with a smile for all the kids.. I loved it..

Then I had David, and I tried to do the same.. However, alot of the
costumes were gory and he was freaked by the grim reaper walking up and
down my street.. He had a really hard time that year, so I quit.. We
started going to the church bonfire that night.. It was great to sing
hymns by the fire, roast hot dogs and marshmellows on a stick, and play
games.. so that is what we did..

Now, I am married.. with another child.  My husband sees nothing
wrong with Halloween.  He wants Anna to join in on the fun..Our
church does not have any activities set aside for this night as an
alternative.. So, I have decided that I will let him lead in this
area.  However, I do not go out of my way with it.. Anna dresses
in simple costumes ( 1 – kitty, 2nd – cinderella, 3rd – snow white,
this year Stephanie from Lazy Town).  We usually go to the mall
and a block around here.. Anna doesn’t seem to be freaked by what she
sees.. but I still wish she didn’t see it at all.. However, I believe
that my conviction now is not the same as when I was a single mom.. I
feel the Lord telling me that He will lead my husband and I am to be
patient and loving.. So that is what I try to do. 

I believe that we are at all different stages in our Christian walk..
and while others may have their convictions.. we are to grow in
Christ.. Let the Lord guide us to the changes we are to make at certain
times in our lives..

I am reminded of something I noticed when I moved to RI.  There
were two guys in our church.. Both had found Christ about the same time
but they both changed in different ways.. One changed immediately..
like overnight.. he started dressing up and doing all the right
things..etc.. the second.. changed slowly.. gradually over time.. he
clothes started to change, then his hair, etc.. The first guy.. after a
few years left.. dropped out of the church..w as not seen again.. no
clue where he is or what he is doing.. the second guy.. because one of
the youth leaders, then went to college, then married.. he has come
back a few times and preached.. I am not sure if he is a pastor.. but I
do know that he is married with children and loving the Lord..

Of course this does not mean it is wrong to change things right away..
of course not.. this was only one example and who knows if that first
guy is back in the Lord’s guidance.. However, God works on all of us
continually.. and in His timing.. As long as we continue to grow in
Him, then we are doing what we should be doing..

hmm.. didn’t think I had this much to say..

