I tried this recipe tonight.. It was great.

Below is copied from BloggingBaby

Homemade pizza, faster than delivery

Posted Oct 3rd 2006 9:04AM by Jenifer Scharpen
Filed under: Eating, Blogs
A
few years ago, the talented and amazing A. shared a great homemade
pizza recipe on her blog, small hands. I have searched in vain for the
link with no luck, so I’ll just type in my handwritten notes for you.
If you’ve never been to her site, you’ve got to go for a visit. She’s a
single mom, an attorney, and one of the most amazing quilters evah!
She’s also a fantastic cook; this recipe is proof.

* 1/4 and 1/2 cup warm water (105-115 degrees)
* 1 TBS dry yeast
* 1 tsp sugar
* 2 cups flour (I’m a King Arthur fan)
* 1 TBS veg oil
* 1/2 tsp salt

* Preheat oven with pizza stone @ 500 degrees
* Combine 1/4 cup warm water with yeast and sugar. Stir to dissolve yeast and let stand until bubbly, about 5 minutes.
* Put flour, oil and salt into food processor and process about 5 seconds with steel blade.
* Add yeast to flour mixture and process about 10 seconds, until blended.
* Turn on processor and drizzle just enough of the 1/2 cup of warm
water through the feed tube so the dough forms a ball that cleans the
sides of the bowl. Let the ball turn around about 25 times. (My kids
LOVE to count the ball spinning around!)
* Place the ball onto a
greased sheet of tin foil (if using pizza stone) or greased pizza pan.
Cover with plastic or an inverted bowl, let stand 10 minutes.
*
Smooth dough out with a wooden spoon so that it forms a circle leaving
a ridge on the edges. Cover with sauce, cheese, toppings.
* Place pizza with foil on top of the stone.
* Bake @ 425 for 15 to 20 minutes, until crust is golden and cheese bubbly.

For
pizza sauce, I use a can of Trader Joe’s tomato sauce with a bunch of
chopped basil added. My kids can tell the difference, and will complain
bitterly, if I use different sauce. *sigh*

Some of my favorite
toppings are caramelized onions (I just slice an onion, cook it in
olive oil over low heat until it’s really brown) and fresh tomatoes;
the kids love a mix of mozzarella, jack and cheddar. If we have a big
crowd or major appetites, I’ve made two in a row with minimal fuss. I
just get the second one ready while the first is baking.

Of course, I’d love to hear from you if you try this out.

