Let’s start with Pastelillos

My Joy friends would like to know what it is.. so I decided to share with pics.  We had this for dinner tonight.

w112173736

First take about 1 lb ground beef and cook it.. I cook mine with onions.

w112173752

Instead of making the dough I buy frozen discos

w112173757

This also makes it a bit easier to prepare

 

w112173883

I put in about 2 tbs of the meat mixture..

w112173894

Because I am weak when it comes to closing that turnover thingy.. I always re-inforce the edges with a fork..

w112173911

Oh yes.. I know.. deep frying .. bad!!   Thankfully we only make this about once a month.

w112173931

Don’t they look yummy!

w112173945

Angel likes to pour hot sauce inside after he takes the first bite.

We also love this with ham and jar cheese instead of ground beef.

 

Now for the Chicken Pot Pie

I decided to attempt chicken pot pie again.. I have a hard time with the sauce.  Well, Angel loved it so much he said I had to either print it out or write it down somewhere.. since I didn’t use a recipe.. I decided to type it out on here..

I started with two chicken breast halves.. I cut them in cubes and put them in about 2 cups of water to boil.. I then added 2 potatoes diced, and 1 carrot diced.  I then added two chicken cubes (broth), salt, pepper, and about 1 tsp of butter.  After it was cooked I drained the broth into a bowl and set aside.

In another pan I sauteed 1 celery and 1 onion (chopped up).  When they because soft I removed them and added 3 tbs of flour and then some of the broth and milk and continued to stir.. while that was cooking I put the celery and onions in my Magic Bullet (store brand) and blended that really good and added to the mixture.  I let that cook til it was bubbling a bit then set it to cool.. It looked like it was the perfect consistancy.

I cheated on the dough and bought the box kind.. all I had to do was roll it out.. and pour in the mixture.

I then added the chicken and veggies to the mix and threw in some frozen peas.. mixed that all up.

w112173703

I then chopped up some scallions and sprinkled them over the top.  Rolled out the top crust

w112173689

I beat an egg and glazed it over the top of the crust.  Baked in oven on 350 for about 35-40 min.

w112173710

Angel loved it so much that we had it again the second night.  I do enjoy making things that he likes to eat.  You can bet I will be making this again.

